TITTIES ,VAGINA , CERVIX et al ; It’s that serious !

No one prepares you for the big day, in this case the inaugural visit to the gynecologist. It wasn’t my first time per se but this was the first time I was to have through checkup. I had also not anticipated what I would be thorough but here I was, the new gynae talking all the PH and degrees Celsius of my Vagina not forgetting the embarrassing questions like if I was sexually active or what type of sexual activities I had been engaging in.

Just how did I land here at J.Os clinic? I had been having some excruciating abdominal pains that seemed never to go away. Six years back in my late teens a general practitioner had warned me against ever trying to use hormonal contraceptives after I was diagnosed with simple ovarian cysts. With my poorest dating record, this wasn’t really a big issue coz I almost smiled and told him, “not to worry sir, that’s been handled,” but since I have always had good rapport with Indian doctors including my pediatrician, I only managed, “Yes, I understand”. So all the probabilities of what might have caused the pain always left me with a possibility of another cyst bout. My friend convinced me to see J.O, apparently he would fix whatever it was.

So here I was, at the clinic thinking maybe I would just get a prescription and voila! The pain puzzle solved. Shock on me when I was told to undress, and get on the examination table .I was hesitant on my knickers so I kept them on. OMG! The last time someone knead my titties that much was when I was joining form one (mark you I barely had any). He touched, felt, pressed and make quite a lot of note . Then boom!

“Doris, I will have to examine you down there,:”

“Ummh, sorry,” I murmured.

“I have to check you down there, please get your panties off.”

That’s was it. I was still new in this whole thong business so even the fact that I was almost naked made me so uncomfortable. I told myself to relax and allowed him to proceed with the checkup. Trust me; it was one of the most vulnerable moments. There was me, lying on the bed like a specimen , all exposed to this guy, old enough to be my dad but my mind reminded me that he was a life savior . He did what he had to do, made more notes, discarded the gloves and handed me wipes to clean myself . Ouch ! But what a sigh it was to get over and done with. How wrong I was!

Back to his desk, he sends me for some scans, which now starts to scare me. He says that he needs to be *sure* before prescriptions. I did not ask what things but quietly walked to accident house, silently praying that I am all good.

One hour later, my bladder can’t hold it anymore and I am like 10 more people away from getting served. The worst mistake I do is walking to the washroom thinking that a few glasses of water afterwards will make me all good and ready for the abdominal scan. Though it felt so good, little did I know that it now meant I had to get a transvaginal scan!! Grrr! I have NEVER and will NEVER own a sex toy , so all having this long , smooth edged white thing inserted in me is painful ( a little, coz its covered , no dipped, in gel) , uncomfortable and somehow gross . I have no choice thanks to my empty bladder. My tits also get scanned and in ten minutes, the lady leaves the assistant to assist me in cleaning my gel covered breasts. We actually laugh it over with the lady helping me though I can see in her eyes that she knows I was scared and she pitied me . She ensured that I am fully clean on the upper body before she lets me finish up .

I am now tired and beaten. I don’t care to look at the images but head to J.Os clinic.

Luckily it’s nothing to be wary of .Some cysts are actually normally and should clear at certain staged of the cycle every month. He however makes me promise to go for regular checkups just in case something sinister is brewing up, which of course I have no choice but to oblige. As if I hadn’t had enough, as soon as I step out, the heavens open, I run late for an exam while dripping wet and stay in traffic jam from 8:50pm to almost 11Pm.

Despite all this, I have kept my word, am due for the next appointment in two weeks’ time. Luckily, I have seen good progress. If I had ignored, maybe, just maybe, I would have ended up on a surgery table. I try to feel my breasts every day and contemplate on getting a thermometer for my Vagina once I know how well it will help me .

PS:

  • High temperatures and acidity levels may kill the sperm so difficulty in conception
  • Cysts can occur every month but should clear immediately you have your menses.
  • Too much distress as PMS should be brought to a gynecologist attention.
  • Every woman should get regular check ups

It is cancer awareness month, so many free screening happening. Let us take the advantage and get screened!

2 thoughts on “TITTIES ,VAGINA , CERVIX et al ; It’s that serious !

Leave a Reply

