Formula one + Tennis Concoction

My anniversary post is still in the making . However I have some juicy weekend gossip from US open and Monza tracks for the Italian GP .

What a weekend it was!!! For the lovers of football like me, it was a slow weekend. No EPL so the international fixtures don’t bring so many thrills unless is the deserving revenge by Argentina against Germany. Luckily for me, I was breaking all the knuckles and banks betting and hoping Tennis and Formula one would bring not only a smile but also some money .
My bets,
1. Hamilton would win the Italian grand prix and Vettel would not make a podium finish
2. Serena would once again beat some ass , like almost literally , at the US open women singles
3. Djokovic would be in the US open men singles finals VS a top four, most likely my old boy Federer.
Looking back at the Monza practice and Riccardos” win at the Belgian GP, I was almost sure that Redbull would spoil the Mercedes party. I feared Valtteri Bottas of Williams would also make me eat humble pie considering his recent almost constant podium finishes. Luckily Lewis Hamilton qualified 2nd position on the grid, though was quickest in the first practice, and I just prayed (literally) that Nico Rosberg would not eff this time round.
It’s Sunday and only into the first lap Hamilton’s ERS system fails to start sending me to most gruel, nerve wrecking 53 laps, dented hopes of max 25 points from him is all I had. If you do watch formula one, you get this. When you hear those voice messages from teams and a possibility of pitting in the 3rd lap, while still on soft or medium tires, you know what it means. Having witnessed all the kind of Drama in the Mercedes Team in the recent past, I was pretty sure with the kind of unfolding events, a small collision with Nico would blow up the sportsmanship in Mercedes faction. Luckily, after some careful navigation and some really good work form the Mercedesteam, Lewis got all the max 25 point. The get away with the boys might also have healed a great deal. He looks all the winner part and this going to be a hunt to the end. But still, Nico came in 2nd. 19 points is not bad considering the 29 point gap advantage he still has. The most sensational part of the whole thing is that, Constructors championship is almost a closed chapter and Mercedes are taking this! Yes! I don’t care who takes 2nd, 3rd, 4th… all that matters is that Redbull are chasing but with foregone conclusion of no top honors .
It was time for some racquet, US Open, celebrity filled event. It was a very common interest for the lovers of sets, rallies, volleys, grunts (yes, Serena is good at this), drop balls, amps and smashes to glue to this event. My silly celebration started when my boy Federer came two sets down to beat Monfils in a thriller quarter. Trust me, that where I celebrate while soaking my hankies. Such sweet victory. The celebration was even more buttered when Djokovic lost to the Japanese Nishikori .I was almost sure of Federer running away with this one. However, it was short lived. In straight sets, Cilic sent Federer packing in the Semis. So painful.
The only real tennis redemption joy for US open now lay in Serena. With her recent shaky performance, I could help be wary of an upset from Caroline Wozniacki. Just to note, after her break up from Rory McIlroy, she went down, picked up herself and overpowered Roberta Vinci 6-1, 6-1 to win the Istanbul Cup final and clinch her first WTA title of 2014 and personal 22nd title. I dread the energy guys from a break up bring into the courts. Especially of it’s anything to do with Rory and Caroline. Luckily, I stopped doubting the Williams energy .At 30 plus, the mojo in that woman is one to behold. Smash, slice, end to end, balls “flying” at some unimaginable speeds, this is the living tennis. In I hour 15 minutes and straight sets of 6-3 6-3 , it was 18th grand slam to her name , $4 million (320 million shillings) richer and a record of 4th most women singles in the tennis history. It was the 3rd US open title in a row for the younger Williams sisters, one shy of Evert’s 4 title record. Trust the “mazgwembe “ ( her kind of legs as called in Kenya) .
With The men’s Final, I have no favorite but I think Kei Nishikori will prevail over Marin Cilic.

Leave a Reply

